News Article

KwaZulu-Natal Region Winners Shine in Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards 2013
click here link want my wife to cheat

KwaZulu-Natal Region Winners Shine in Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards 2013

The return of the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards has seen the bar being raised with “pockets of excellence evident in all categories, underscoring the vital need for this competition”, says co-convenor of the judging panel Mary Papayya.

The judging process was a rigorous one with a professional judging panel taking part in robust debate and critical and concise decision making. According to the judges the review of the categories for this year’s Vodacoms attracted some of the best journalism in South Africa. “We hope the momentum and interest in these awards will continue,” says Papayya.

This year 832 entries were received in the 12 categories: CSI/Sustainability, Editor’s Choice, Financial/Economic, Online, Photography, Print Feature, Print News, Radio Feature, Radio News, Sport, Television Feature, and Television News. The Print News category received the most entries with 161 submissions. There were several categories in KwaZulu-Natal where entries were low and there were no winners. The judges say they hoped more journalists from the region would enter next year. 

“We are really delighted with the response to the awards this year – and the calibre,” says Maya Makanjee, Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs at Vodacom.

“The independent panel of judges were presented with a great challenge to find the best-of-the-best in South African journalism, and went through a rigorous process to do so. This year’s judging panel comprised experts in their fields, and we thank Elna Rossouw, Mary Papayya, Colin Nxumalo, Arthur Goldstuck, Johann de Wet, Joe Thloloe, Ryland Fisher, and Patricia McCracken, who made their time and expertise available to us,” says Makanjee.

Mary Papayya and Joe Thloloe served as co-convenors for this year’s awards.

Regional winners for the KwaZulu-Natal region were announced today in Durban at the Protea Hotel in Umhlanga Ridge. 

Regional winners will each take home R5 000 and travel to Johannesburg for the national finals on 1 November.

The winners of the 2013 Vodacom Journalist of the Year regional Awards in the KwaZulu-Natal Region are:

2013 CSI/Sustainability winner

No winner

2013 Financial/Economic winner

No winner

2013 Online winner

No winner

2013 Photography winner

Thuli Dlamini, The Times, Image of a grandmother who was raped

2013 Print Feature winner s

Sam Sole, Stefaans Brummer, Mail & Guardian, A decade of distraction

2013 Print News winners

Nivashni Nair, Canaan Mdletshe, The Times, Brutalised – the Tina Mbuli story

2013 Radio Feature winners

Minoshni Pillay, SABC Radio News, Shakaskraal graves; and

Genevieve Lanka, SABC Newsbreak, Elderly kidnap

2013 Radio News winner

Khalesakhe Mbhense, SABC, PKG/Pomeroy-Isikebhe

2013 Sport winner

Quintin van Jaarsveld, Fever Newspaper Group, Burry Stander tribute

2013 Television Feature winners

Carvin H. Goldstone, Neil Raath, eNCA Sports Nation, Transformation in canoeing

2013 Television News winner

Dasen Thathiah, eNCA, Msinga, Panga and Reservists (body of work)

2013 Editor’s choice winner

Viasen Soobramoney, The Post Newspaper, Soobramoney was nominated by Aakash Bramdeo

Makanjee says: “Congratulations to all the winners in the KwaZulu-Natal region, and we look forward to welcoming you at the national finals, which will be a celebration of the best in journalism in South Africa.”